Center for Sleep Diagnostics  

Sleep disordered breathing disorder is a prevalent medical condition. Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) is the most common condition in sleep disordered breathing. It affects 4% of males and 2% of females among the middle-aged population in Hong Kong. Obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) is caused by repetitive collapse of the pharyngeal airway during sleep, which results in ongoing respiratory effort during pharyngeal collapse. It leads to arterial oxygen desaturation and frequent awakenings of patients. Hence individuals suffering from OSA would have fragmented sleep and poor sleep quality.

Common Symptoms of OSA
1. habitual snoring,
2. excessive daytime sleepiness,
3. witnessed apnea and choking during sleep,
4. insomnia
5. headache
6. concentration deficit
7. nocturia
8. depression

 
 
 
 
Systemic Effect of OSA on Health  

OSA is a recognized contributing factor for hypertension, insulin resistance, cardiovascular and cerebrovascular diseases. Risk of motor vehicle accidents is also higher in patients with untreated OSA.

Risk Factors
1. Genetic: often have positive family history
2. Gender: male gender, menopause increase the predisposition for developing OSA in women
3. Age : progressively increases in middle age
4. Obesity
5. Smoking/alcohol
6. Small jaw
7. Hypothyroidism

 
 
 
Self-Evaluation  

If you think you may suffer from obstructive sleep apnea , there are several simple tests you can take that may suggest you should discuss the possibility with your doctor

https://sleepapnea.org/learn/sleep-apnea/do-i-have-sleep-apnea/four-sleep-apnea-tests-you-can-take-right-now/

http://www.sleepeducation.org/essentials-in-sleep/sleep-apnea/self-tests

 
 

Diagnostic Confirmation  

The golden standard of diagnostic modality for OSA is overnight Polysomnography (multi-channels overnight Sleep Study). It records EEG, EOG, chin & leg EMG, ECG, nasal airflow, abdominal & chest wall movements and digital oximetry of patients. Sleep Study will be conducted in a designated room. The sound and light proof fittings will provide a comfortable environment which allows people falling asleep easily.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Treatment Options  

1. Modification of lifestyles such as weight control is always the most fundamental measure.

2. The first line treatment in most patients with significant OSA is nasal Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP). CPAP splints up patient’s upper airway with air pressure in order to prevent its collapse during sleep.

3. Oral appliances (OA) will be considered in those who are intolerant or unwilling to adhere to CPAP. OA works by moving the lower jaw forward with a custom made dental device, thereby enlarging the upper respiratory tract of OSA patient.

4. Surgery are occasionally indicated when a surgically correctable abnormality is believed to be the source of the problem. These surgical procedures may resect or reposition throat structures obstructing the upper airway and all these operations target at restoring normal flow of air in and out of the lungs.

 
 
Our center offers a comprehensive consultative and diagnostic service for patients with OSAS through a multi-disciplinary approach. Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) titration will be performed if CPAP is indicated. Structured scheme of follow up will be provided to evaluate the treatment response of the patients.
 
 
 
Enquiry / Appointment
Tel : 2711 5222

睡眠檢測中心  

與睡眠有關的呼吸性疾病在香港其實相當普遍,其中以阻塞性睡眠窒息症為最常見的睡眠呼吸性疾病,約有4%的中年男性及2%的中年女性患上此症。阻塞性睡眠窒息症是因病人上呼吸道於睡眠時受阻,空氣不能順利通過呼吸管道而導致窒息。這種情況令患者缺氧、大腦經常短暫驚醒而得不到充足睡眠。

常見病徵
1. 慣性打鼻鼾
2. 日間嗜睡
3. 睡眠時呼吸困難或窒息
4. 失眠
5. 頭痛
6. 較難集中精神
7. 夜尿頻繁
8. 抑鬱

 
 
 
 
對健康的整體影響  

阻塞性睡眠窒息症患者有較高機會患上高血壓、糖尿病、心臟病和腦血管疾病。 若患者沒有接受適切治療,更容易遇上因疲倦造成的交通意外。

高危因素
1. 家族史
2. 男性為主
3. 中年以後
4. 肥胖
5. 煙酒
6. 下顎細
7. 甲狀腺分泌過低

 
 
 
自我評估  

如果你是阻塞性睡眠窒息症的高危一族,可以首先透過以下超連結進行自我評估,請注意這些外國網站只有英文版本。若讀者進一步發現自己可能患上阻塞性睡眠窒息症,請從速向你的家庭醫生求助。

https://sleepapnea.org/learn/sleep-apnea/do-i-have-sleep-apnea/four-sleep-apnea-tests-you-can-take-right-now/

http://www.sleepeducation.org/essentials-in-sleep/sleep-apnea/self-tests

 
 

專業診斷  

多頻道睡眠測試是診斷阻塞性睡眠窒息症的黃金標準,這是一項無痛及無創傷性的檢查並於舒適隔音房間進行。睡眠測試可連續記錄病人腦電圖、眼電圖、下巴及腳的肌電圖、呼吸量、呼吸時腹和胸肺壁的移動及血氧測量。

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
治療方案  

1. 調節生活方式,例如控制體重等等為最根本治療原則 。

2. 使用持續正壓通氣 (CPAP) 睡眠機:利用氣壓固定病者的上呼吸道,以防止阻塞 睡眠機:利用氣壓固定病者的上呼吸道,以防止阻塞 睡眠機:利用氣壓固定病者的上呼吸道,以防止阻塞 , 一般而言 CPAP 適用於大部份患者。

3. 牙膠:利用特別訂造的使病者下顎移前,擴闊上呼吸道。對那些不能適應或不願意長期使用 CPAP 的患者,牙膠是另一個可行的次選擇。

4. 外科手術:在某些非常特別情況下,切除或矯正阻礙上呼吸道的喉部結構,能使進出病人肺部的氣流恢復正常,從而改善睡眠窒息症。


 
本測試中心對睡眠窒息症病患者 提供全面的診斷服務,並安排合宜的持續正壓通氣(CPAP) 睡眠治療。透過精心設計的跟進覆診,仔細聆聽病人的疑問及適時提出專業意見。
 
 
 
查詢及預約
電話 : 2711 5222
 
 
 
 

播道醫院 ©2013 版權所有